New Album Announced On What Would Have Been Prince's 60th Birthday

June 7, 2018

The unreleased 'Piano & A Microphone 1983' LP will be released in September with the blessing of the late artist's estate

A previously unreleased Prince album will finally be available to purchase in September, with today’s announcement of its forthcoming release marking what would’ve been the iconic artist’s 60th birthday.

The album, titled ‘Piano & A Microphone 1983’, has been given the green light for release by Prince’s Estate, who have announced today (June 7) that the record will be released by Warner Bros. Records.

As the title suggests, ‘Piano & A Microphone 1983’ was recorded by Prince in 1983, and consists of nine intimate home recordings Prince made at the piano. The album was recorded at Prince’s Kiowa Trail home studio in Chanhassen, Minnesota, and was engineered by Don Batts.

‘Piano & A Microphone 1983’ Tracklist

1. 17 Days
2. Purple Rain
3. A Case Of You
4. Mary Don’t You Weep
5. Strange Relationship
6. International Lover
7. Wednesday
8. Cold Coffee & Cocaine
9. Why The Butterflies

The album – which will be released on September 21 – is available to pre-order now on CD, LP, Deluxe CD+LP, digital release and pre-save for streaming.


A group of Prince fans plan to celebrate the late icon's 60th birthday with a three-day gathering in Henderson, Minnesota, near where scenes from Purple Rain were filmed.  The FREE gathering begins on June 7th, which would have been Prince's 60th birthday. The legendary artist died of an accidental overdose in April 2016 at the age of 57. The festival also promises appearances by "secret guests" associated with Prince and a meet-and-greet with members of Prince's family. Additionally, donations from the three-day festival will go toward the painting of a mural of Prince leaning against a "little red corvette."