The Songwriters Hall of Fame has announced its class for 2014. The five member class includes a group of individuals that beat out a number of big names in terms of songwriting and performing.

The 2014 list includes Ray Davies of the Kinks, Donovan, Jim Weatherly, Graham Gouldman and Mark James.

Davies wrote most of the Kinks’ classics, including “Tired Of Waiting For You” and “You Really Got Me.”

Like Davies, Donovan is also in the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. His list of  hits includes “Mellow Yellow” and “Sunshine Superman.”

Jim Weatherly was a college quarterback at the University of Mississippi before deciding to pursue a career in music instead of football. Weatherly, a singer/songwriter, penned “Midnight Train To Georgia,” a huge hits for Gladys Knight and the Pips.

Gouldman’s first songwriting hit came in 1965 with the song “For Your Love” for the Yardbirds. Gouldman was also a member of the British band 10cc.

Mark James’ wrote “Always On My Mind,” a huge hit for Willie Nelson, which was also recorded by Elvis Presley. James also wrote “Suspicious Minds” for Presley, which was one of his final number one hits.

The induction ceremony will take place June 12 at the The induction ceremony will take place at the Marriott Marquis Hotel in New York. 

– Ray Boyd, WOGL, Philadelphia 


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More From 104.1 Jack FM

Get The App
JACK's Crush Archive
JACK's Inside Track

Listen Live