What does “The Perfect Life” look like? Well, if you’re Moby and Wayne Coyne dressed as accordion-wielding mariachi players picking up friendly freaks while roaming the streets of Downtown Los Angeles, the perfect life is singing your new collaboration high atop a helipad surrounded by roller skating ghosts and topless women.

According Rolling Stone, the original casting call for Moby’s latest video sought “S&M gimp rhythmic gymnast,” “eight roller-skating ghosts,” “12 goth choir members,” “2 obese bearded bikers in red speedos,” “a punk rock brass brand” and “a drunk king: guy with beard age 35-50.”

Moby explained how surprisingly easy it was to get Coyne involved. He told RS, “I texted Wayne and said, ‘Hey, I have a song – want to sing on it?’ Thirty seconds later, he texted me back: ‘Yes, send it to me, it will be great.’”

In addition to the finished video, Moby released a teaser video featuring he and Coyne performing the song acoustically with the volunteer cast members sitting around watching, occasionally chiming in, all while the sun set on over their rooftop perch. “Please keep in mind we had no idea what we were doing,” Moby warned.

While still composing the new album, the 41-year old seasoned artist described Innocents to Rock It Out Blog as “A whole bunch of weird collaborations.” “At this point,” he continued, “no one buys albums so when I love making music and I love making albums but I don’t expect anyone to buy them.”

Innocents, Moby’s newest full-length featuring Wayne Coyne, Skylar Grey, Mark Lanegan and more, is set for release September 30 and available to pre-order now.

Innocents Tracklist

01. Everything that Rises
02. A Case for Shame (with Cold Specks)
03. Almost Home (with Damien Jurado)
04. Going Wrong
04. The Perfect Life (with Wayne Coyne)
05. The Last Day (with Skylar Grey)
06. Don’t Love Me (with Inyang Bassey)
07. A Long Time
08. Saints
09. Tell Me (with Cold Specks)
10. The Lonely Night (with Mark Lanegan)
11. The Dogs

– Jay Tilles, Radio.com


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More From 104.1 Jack FM

Get The App
JACK's Crush Archive
JACK's Inside Track

Listen Live