Smashing Pumpkins To Release Oceania: Live In NYC Multimedia Set

Smashing Pumpkins will release their elaborate Oceania performance captured last year (December 10) at Brooklyn’s Barclay’s Center.

On September 3, fans can select from various formats including DVD, 3D Blu-ray, deluxe 2 CD/DVD set and digital long form.The DVD and Blu-ray discs both feature the entire concert, along with interviews with Sean Evans, the lighting director and stage producer, plus a photo gallery from the event.

During this special presentation, production values were pumped up a few notches from the band’s typical show. Corgan and crew performed their 2012 album Oceania in full, followed by classics for the second half of the show with elaborate visual effects produced by Evans, known for his work assisting Roger Waters on the newest staging of The Wall. (Setlist from the show is listed below.)

The release comes on the heels of Smashing Pumpkins re-releasingThe Aeroplane Flies High Deluxe Edition featuring 7 remastered discs, which comes to a grand total of a staggering 104 tracks.

The original 1996 edition of the album was a five-disc box set that featured expanded versions of singles from their acclaimed 1995 double album Mellon Collie & The Infinite Sadness, including “Bullet With Butterfly Wings,” “1979,” “Zero” “Tonight, Tonight” and “Thirty-Three.” Impressively, Mellon Collie sold more than 10 million copies.

Also included is a 46-page book with liner notes plus extensive track-by-track notes by Billy Corgan for the original release’s 33 tracks. Aeroplane Flies High (Deluxe Edition), is available for pre-order now.

When asked about looking back at the ’90s, Corgan told Spain’s bi-FM that he doesn’t like talking about the decade. “To me, the mythology of the ’90s is better than the reality. I’m living in the present.”

Smashing Pumpkins will soon start recording the follow-up to 2012’s acclaimed album Oceania.

Oceania: Live in NYC Tracklist:
Disc 1:
01. Quasar (5:05)
02. Panopticon (4:09)
03. The Celestials (3:50)
04. Violet Rays (4:34)
05. My Love Is Winter (3:37)
06. One Diamond, One Heart (3:54)
07. Pinwheels (5:52)
08. Oceania (10:09)
09. Pale Horse (4:35)
10. The Chimera (4:39)
11. Glissandra (4:31)
12. Inkless (3:03)

Disc 2:
01. Wildflower (5:06)
02. Space Oddity (7:38)
03. X.Y.U (10:23)
04. Disarm (3:31)
05. Tonite Reprise (1:27)
06. Tonight, Tonight (4:21)
07. Bullet with Butterfly Wings (5:02)
08. The Dream Machine (7:01)
09. Hummer (7:13)

01. Ava Adore (5:11)
02. Cherub Rock (4:43)
03. Zero (6:01)

– Jay Tilles,


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More From 104.1 Jack FM

Get The App
JACK's Crush Archive
JACK's Inside Track

Listen Live