rhcp 385x240 getty JACK FMs Artist Spotlight: Red Hot Chili Peppers

In the Artist Spotlight this week, Red Hot Chili Peppers. Click HERE all this week for an over dose of the new Rock N Roll Hall of Fame inductees.

The Red Hot Chili Peppers are a band based in Hollywood, California and was formed in 1983, in Los Angeles, California. The band currently consists of founding members Anthony Kiedis (vocals) and Michael “Flea” Balzary (bass) along with longtime member Chad Smith (drums). Guitarist John Frusciante quietly left the band on good terms in early 2008. On January 2nd 2010 Josh Klinghoffer was announced as Frusciante’s replacement. was released to radio on July 15, 2011, three days earlier than expected due to the single leaking. The song was the first single by RHCP in four years following the 2007 release of “Hump De Bump.”This was RHCP’s first single with new guitarist, Josh Klinghoffer, following John Frusciante’s departure in 2009. Songfacts states that the first single released by RHCP with Klinghoffer was The Adventures of Rain Dance Maggie. It was released to radio on July 15, 2011, three days earlier than expected due to the single leaking.

The band initially formed for a one-off support act for a friend’s band, calling themselves Tony Flow And The Miraculously Majestic Masters Of Mayhem. Upon renaming themselves Red Hot Chili Peppers, they played a handful of small club venues in Los Angeles in 1983, before they were signed to EMI Records.

Along with Guns N Roses and the Beastie Boys, the Red Hot Chili Peppers were inducted into the Rock N Roll Hall of Fame in April of  2011.

Current members:

Vocal: Anthony Kiedis (1983-present).
Guitar: Josh Klinghoffer (2009-present).
Bass: Michael Peter “Flea” Balzary (1983-present).
Drums: Chad Smith, (1988-present).

Previous members:

Notable guitarists (in chronological order):
Hillel Slovak (1983-1984),
Jack Sherman (1984),
Hillel Slovak (1985-1988),
John Frusciante (1988-1992),
Arik Marshall (1992-1993),
Jesse Tobias (1993)
Dave Navarro (1993-1998),
John Frusciante (1998-2008)
Josh Klinghoffer
Notable drummers (in chronological order):
Jack Irons (1983-1984),
Cliff Martinez (1984-1987),
Jack Irons (1987-1988),
D.H. Peligro (1988),
Chad Smith, (1988-present)


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More From 104.1 Jack FM

Get The App
JACK's Crush Archive
JACK's Inside Track

Listen Live